top of page

Dear 13 Reasons Why,

Dear 13 Reasons Why,

I have just finished watching the 13th episode, and I'm sure you had good intentions, but a few things don't sit right with me.

Hannah Baker had a terrible life, I'm not going to try and deny that. She was bullied and torn down by those around her, but how she blames every one of those 13 people for her decision is something I can't get over. Yes, those people may have influenced her decision, but it was still her decision. She hated her life so much that she saw that the only option for her was to end her life. That is a decision that only the person taking their own life can decide. People can tear you down and try and tear you apart, they can destroy you so far but it is still your decision to end your own life. I know that sounds tragic, how can we not hold anyone accountable for the death of a teenager? But no one should be held accountable. She killed herself. That was her decision. No one made her do it.

I understand your plea to get suicide a non-taboo subject. To send your love to those that are suffering and tell them that they are not alone. But to glorify something to the point we're teenagers are getting the idea that they can blame all their problems on others and that the only revenge possible for high school bullies is to kill themselves to send a message is wrong.

I wanted to sympathise with Hannah Baker, I really do. As someone that has been suicidal, I was excited to finally find a TV show that would highlight the importance of getting help and that when someone says they're suicidal, people should believe them.

But when all Hannah did was blame others for her actions I got angry. Angry to the point of hating her for what she did. She left so many to deal with her death in the shittiest way possible. By leaving her tapes she told them exactly what they did wrong, and most of them should have known how badly they affected her. But to give someone the blame for killing someone else when you alone made that final decision is disgusting. I know that Hannah wanted to end her suffering and make it so no one could ever hurt her again, but to hurt everyone that cared about her, and damage those around her along the way isn't the way to do it.

From someone that was suicidal, my last thought was the take all those around me with me. I wanted it clean and personal, not something that would destroy other people's lives in the process.

I know this is only a TV show and I shouldn't be taking this so seriously, but this show was a worldwide phenomenon. So many have been influenced by this show and I'm surprised that not more stories of teen suicides have circled the media of children thinking that suicide was their only option.

Suicide is a real issue and not something to be taken lightly. I'm glad that suicide is now an issue that is being talked about but I'm sad about that it had to be in this way. 13 Reasons Why does not give a good showcase of suicide. It shows that a teen can kill themselves and then blame others for their actions. Suicide is not a revenge plot. Suicide is not a teenage phase. Suicide is real and needs to be seen as a real illness.

If you know of anyone that is suicidal, or needs help, do not be like the teenagers in 13 Reasons. Do not just spread more rumours about an ill girl, or ignore her to the point where she does feel so numb she thinks suicide is an option. Help them, but do not blame yourself if the worst happens.

Suicide and depression is tricky. Those that need help often can't find it in themselves to ask for it. If a person is set on suicide there is nothing that will change their mind. There is nothing you could have said, nothing you could have done.

Do not let a TV show tell you that if someone around you kills themselves that it is your fault. Everyone one of those 13 people blame themselves but they shouldn't. They may have influenced Hannah, but they did not make her pick up those razor blades. They didn’t kill Hannah Baker. She killed herself.

So thank you, 13 Reasons Why. For when I now say I was suicidal people will just think of me as a manipulative person who wants to blame my problems on others.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page